We have left a great composer, music, journalist, orchestra conductor and above all a great person, LiceXballet has been pleased to have been with him his last days of his life, we have remembered moments in which he was released ballet “Los Cinco Continentes” directing the orchestra himself on the day of the premiere. He published for the first time the Spanish version of “The Story of the Soldier by Igor Stravinsky, and above all we very much remember his anecdotes so beloved and interesting in his life.
Dear Master Rest with Peace.

Pianist, performer, conductor and composer is considered one of the fundamental pillars of contemporary Catalan music.

The composer Joan Guinjoan died yesterday, January 1, 2019, at eighty-seven. Pianist, performer, conductor and composer, Guinjoan is considered one of the fundamental pillars of contemporary Catalan music. For his creative side, Guinjoan was linked to Vilanova, as he was the composer of one of the great ballets of the choreographer and dancer Joan Magrinya.

In the summer of 2017 the Biblioteca Museu Balaguer signed an agreement with the Museum of Music for the conservation and digitalization of the recording of the ballet by Joan Guinjoan, Los cinco continentes. This unique audio document had been located by the LiceXballet association between the sound background of the legacy of Joan Magrinyà deposited in the Víctor Balaguer Library.

LiceXballet is an entity that emerged from the initiative of a group of dancers, members of the Ballet del Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona and who works for the defense and historical recovery of the ballet. They are very specifically working on the recovery of the history of the Ballet of the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona since the inauguration of the theater in 1847 and also to enhance and disseminate work as a dancer, choreographer and master of dance by Joan Magrinya.

The recording of Los cinco continentes, made in one of the trials of the ballet, has an outstanding value, since neither the same Guinjoan had a copy. The digitalization of Los cinco continentes ended this summer and, after doing the debugging of other audios that appear there, there was a desire to give a copy to its author. Unfortunately it has not been possible.

In the handwriting program of this ballet, it explains in detail the harmonic structure of the composition of Guinjoan and highlight the most remarkable elements of the five parts of the ballet, each devoted to a continent On the part dedicated to Europe, serial music writing is enhanced, in Asia, it emphasizes the tímbrico factor; in Oceania, emphasis is placed on sound work concentrated in only 11 instruments of the orchestra (flute, clarinet, horn, trumpet, tuba, 2 percussionists, harp, piano, viola and double bass), from America, the “nostalgic insinuation of the melodic” is highlighted and, finally, in Africa, the protagonism of rhythm and percussion is enhanced.
The score was written in 1968 and premiered in 1969 at the Gran Teatre del Liceu on February 1, 1969, for the Ballet and the Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu, directed by the same composer. The choreography was the work of Joan Magriñá.

Guinjoan was born in 1931 in Riudoms (Baix Camp). His musical education began at the Liceu conservatory and completed in Paris. A renowned pianist, Guijoan has also excelled in the field of composition, becoming one of the great ambassadors of contemporary music and promoting his introduction to Catalonia. Guinjoan has also been conductor and his career has been recognized with the National Music Awards for Spain in 1990 and the Catalan National Prize in 1995. Guinjoan was also a member of the Royal Catalan Academy of Fine Arts of San Jordi since 1991, Knight of Arts and Letters and Official of the Arts and Letters of France, and Creu de Sant Jordi.

Ajuntament de Vilanova i la Geltrú

– Conservatori del Liceu – En el trespas de Joan Guinjoan
– ara.cat
– El Punt Avui
– El Pais – obituarios
– El Pais –
– Video TV3
– TV3 a la carta – Notícies 3/24
– TV3 a la carta – telenotícies
– La Razón – cultura –
– Vilaweb
– El Mundo – Música –
– La Vanguardia – Música –
– Radio Clásica
– Biografía